Tags

,

I’ve decided to implement a personal zero-tolerance policy towards people making homophobic or anti-gay remarks.  Starting right now, I will no longer tolerate anti-gay remarks from anyone.  I will no longer tolerate people using the word “gay” as an insult.  I will no longer tolerate people who oppose same-sex marriage.  I will no longer tolerate people who use the terms “faggot” or “fag” as insults.  I will no longer tolerate people who treat the issue of same-sex marriage or LGBT rights as a “debate” with valid opinions on both sides.  I will no longer tolerate people who oppose same-sex marriage or LGBT rights as though they have a valid opinion.  I will no longer tolerate people who use the term “tranny” as an insult.  I will no longer tolerate people who bully and intimidate LGBT people into depression and suicide.  I will no longer tolerate people who create a culture where LGBT harassment is acceptable.

Zero tolerance.  I will not be gentle.  If you fall into my sights, I will let you know exactly what you did wrong, and exactly how much I despise you for doing it.  I give exactly zero fucks about your hurt feelings.  I don’t care how “insensitive” you think I’m being.  I am done with coddling people who adamantly refuse to understand.

Why am I doing this?  I’m doing this because every day, I wake up and read a dozen articles about what the bigots said about LGBT people this week.  As a sampler, these are the articles that showed up on my news feed from yesterday morning until right now:

( * = Link to Worldnutdaily.  Abandon hope all ye who enter here.)

Don Feder Rails Against Immigrant ‘Parasites’ and Gay Marriage ‘Travesty’

Louie Gohmert Opposes Gun Control Because Gay Marriage Leads to Bestiality

Keyes: Marriage Equality is the ‘Archetype of all Crimes Against Humanity’

Hagee: Marriage Equality Kills Capitalism

A generation’s lonely, dark path of sexual confusion*

Georgia GOP Chair Warns That Straight People Will Enter Sham Gay Marriages For Benefits

Marriage is what it is*

Ex-Gay Activist to Starbucks: Prepare for Divine Punishment

Deace on O’Reilly’s Marriage Remarks: ‘That Is a Hanging Offense’

Mormon church holding fast against same-sex marriage

Gainor: Marriage Equality Advocates Will ‘Undermine Our Entire Country and Everything That Made Us Free’

Barber: If DOMA Is Struck Down, ‘it Will Be the Criminalization of Christianity’

Rush: Churches could be forced to marry ‘gays’*

Huelskamp: Marriage Equality is Unpatriotic and Furthers ‘The Destruction of the Family’

‘On My Honor’ calls Scouts to stand firm

Brian Brown: ‘Ours Is Actually a Libertarian Argument’ To Ban Gay Marriage

Fischer: Homosexuality Is Immoral Because God Says So

This was in about a thirty-hour window.  And this is a pretty typical sampling of what I see on a daily basis.  So I am done.  Consider this my official warning.