Tags

, , , , , ,

This was a very difficult post to write, partly because everything I wanted to say has already been said much better than I could ever manage. But I feel like I need to say it anyway, because it needs saying, and everyone who speaks out makes the world just a little better. Also because I can’t just sit back and watch as this sort of stuff happens to good people, and I feel morally obligated to say something. So bear in mind that if it sounds like I’m not saying anything original, it’s because I’m not.

So. Bullying is wrong. It’s really, really wrong. I actually can’t believe this is a semi-controversial position in 20fucking14. But apparently, it is. There is an entire segment of the population that thinks it’s perfectly acceptable to send death and rape threats to women for saying words on the internet. And a lot of them seem to treat this bullying as though it’s a pretty standard afternoon activity. These people so carelessly call for rape and murder and all kinds of horrible things without even blinking an eye, and that’s really fucked up. There is absolutely no justifiable reason to send death threats or rape threats to someone. It doesn’t matter what they said or did, that’s never okay.

And yet, people continue to do this whenever a woman (it’s always a woman) says something on the internet that they disagree with. It’s as if these men (it’s almost always men) lack the ability to disagree with a woman without expressing their desire to kill and/or rape her. I’ve been watching this sort of behavior for a few years now, and frankly, I’m sick of it. I’m sick of watching people that I care about suffer at the hands of cowards and bullies who hide behind pseudonyms and inflict pain through the internet. I’m sick of watching women receive torrents of hate and abuse for simply existing on the internet.

So I’m speaking up. I’m making my voice heard, in the loudest way I can, that I will not tolerate abuse or harassment in any form, against any person. I honestly hope you’ll join me and the many other people who are speaking out, if you haven’t already. The only way we can stop this abuse from happening is to change the culture, by repeatedly demonstrating that abuse of any kind is completely unacceptable. Then maybe being a woman on the internet won’t be so bad anymore.