I’ve been really bad about using trigger warnings. Over my entire blogging career, I’ve used a trigger warning exactly once (here, if you’re curious). I completely understand why trigger warnings are useful and necessary, I’m just not very good at using them. This likely comes from being in the privileged position of not having any triggers, so I don’t get constantly reminded of their necessity. Adding trigger warnings to your posts is something that’s easy to overlook when you don’t need them yourself.

However, I’m done making excuses. In the future, I plan to make a conscious effort to include trigger warnings on those posts that need them. Hopefully, with some practice, it’ll become second nature, and I’ll start including them everywhere.

I’m also hoping that you, dear readers, will help me out here. While I plan to really work at getting this right, I may miss some things or screw up occasionally. If this happens, please call me out on it. If a post doesn’t have a trigger warning, and you find it triggering or you think someone else may find it triggering, please tell me. I really want to get this right, and I’m going to need your help.

Lastly, I feel really bad about not including trigger warnings on the posts I’ve already put up. I almost certainly have accidentally triggered a few people, and that makes me feel awful (which is nothing compared to how those people feel). So, if I’ve ever accidentally triggered you in the past, I sincerely apologize, and I will try very hard to get it right next time.

Okay, that’s all I wanted to say. Go back to whatever else you were doing.

